Paul Barry's Website - Web and Cloud Development - Year 3

3rd Year Module on the B.Sc. Degree in Software Development

Software Development: Web and Cloud Development - Year 3

Academic Year 2018/19 - Class Log.


Wed 12 Sep 2018: Welcome! See the welcome PDF for more.

Thurs 13 Sep 2018: Installed PIP, set up GIT, created a learning folder and a Python virtual environment into which we installed Jupyter Notebook. We are up-and-running.

Tues 18 Sep 2018: More git. Installed the black code formatter into our Python virtual environment. Starting learning about Python - see today's notebooks as well as the odds.py program. Learned how to run Python programs from within a Jupyter notebook, as well as within a Jupyter terminal. Learned that 'for' is preferred over 'while' by most Python programmers (especially when used with the range() function).

Thurs 20 Sep 2018: Talked more about range() and lists, learning about the two and three argument version of range() and the slice notation for lists. Then we talked about (sang?) beer...

Tues 25 Sep 2018: We reviewed the beer submissions, then introduces Python's built-in data structures: lists, tuples, dictionaries, and sets.

Wed 26 Sep 2018: We started our review of lists (see today's notebook), which lead into the next coding exercise... designed to explore the built-in list methods.

Thurs 27 Sep 2018: We ran through the submitted 'on tap' exercises - well done to our volunteers today. No class next Tues, October 2, as the lab is not available to us. See you Wed 3rd.

Thurs 04 Oct 2018: Learned when not to use lists, then started to learn about dictionaries.

Thurs 11 Oct 2018: Using setdefault with dictionaries, then using Counter (from collections), then exploring sets and tuples.

Tues 16 Oct 2018: All about superheroes - using the Python built-in data technologies to do useful stuff.

Wed 17 Oct 2018: Learned how to abstract code into a function (and a module) so that it can be shared more easily. Learned about optional parameters (with defaults) as well as named parameters (where the order is less significiant).

Thurs 18 Oct 2018: Build our first webapp (called first.py) which introduced Flask and the request/response process.

Tues 23 Oct 2018: Extended our webapp to include static files, Jinja2 templates, and POSTed data. Created the webapp folder, a new virtualenv with pipenv, a new repository with git, etc., etc. This is all in preparation for the first assignment (details tomorrow).

Wed 24, Thurs 25, Tues 30, Wed 31 Oct 2018 and Tues 6, Wed 7, Thurs 8 Nov 2018: Distributed details of Assignment #1 (on Wed 24th), which is now active. Due date/time is 5:00pm on Friday, November 9th, 2018.

Tues 13 Nov 2018: Worked through Paul's webapp code (which was then distributed after class).

Wed 14 Nov 2018: Assignment 2 - PythonAnywhere - distributed.


Return to the Courses page.